# Fact Sheet



## What is "Saturday Night Live?"

Premiering in 1975, NBC's "Saturday Night Live" is a late-night sketch comedy show that has provided viewers with laughter for decades. With 48 seasons and over 900 episodes, it's one of the longest-running television shows to date. The weekly 93-minute show offers comedic commentary on political issues and current events by its cast of both featured and repertory members. "SNL" is hosted by a different celebrity guest each week. The hosts participate in sketches and deliver a monologue toward the beginning of the program. Additionally, the show features weekly musical performances.

#### **Production**

"Saturday Night Live" broadcasts every episode live from historic Studio 8H in 30 Rockefeller Plaza. The creator and longtime showrunner, Lorne Michaels, also serves as an executive producer alongside other major names in the comedy world. The show is now produced by Michaels' production company, Broadway Video, founded in 1979. Since 2021, "SNL" has been directed by Emmy-award-winning director Liz Patrick.

## **Program Ratings**

In its 47th season, "Saturday Night Live" ranked fourth amongst comedies across the Big Four (NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox). Additionally, the "SNL" YouTube channel received a total of 1.6 billion views for videos posted during the same season. The season premiere, hosted by Owen Wilson, drew in 4.9 million viewers.

### "SNL" Awards and Accolades

The hit show has earned numerous awards during its tenure. "SNL" holds the record for being the most Emmy-nominated television show in history as well as receiving 93 Emmy wins. Additionally, "Saturday Night Live" has earned six Writers Guild of America Awards, three Peabody Awards and has been inducted into the Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

## **Prominent Former Cast Members**

Many Hollywood stars have hailed from the Studio 8H stage. Some prominent former cast members of "Saturday Night Live" include Bill Murray, 1977-1980; Eddie Murphy, 1980-1984; Chris Rock, 1990-1993; Adam Sandler, 1990-1995; Will Ferrel, 1995-2002; Jimmy Fallon, 1998-2004; Tina Fey, 2000-2006; Amy Poehler, 2001-2008; Kenan Thompson, 2003-Present; Kristen Wiig, 2005-2012; Jason Sudekis, 2005-2013; Kate McKinnon, 2012-2022; and more.

### **Prominent Producers and Writers**

Without the behind-the-scenes players of "SNL," the show would not run successfully. Some prominent producers include Lorne Michaels, 1975-Present; Marci Klein, 1995-2003; Steve Higgins, 1996-Present; Michael Schur, 2002-2004; Lindsey Shookus, 2008-present; and John Mulaney, 2011-2012. Notable head writers include Adam McKay, 1995-2001; Tina Fey, 1999-2006; Seth Meyers, 2005-2014; Colin Jost, 2017-present; and Alison Gates, 2018-present.

## "SNL" Media Contact and Location

Annie Cleaver (123) 456-7890 snlmedia@snl.com

30 Rockefeller Plz, New York, NY, 10112